SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following two Additional Judges of the Jharkhand High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1. Mr. Justice Ananda Sen
- 2. Mr. Justice Anant Bijay Singh

The Collegium of the Jharkhand High Court <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 21st April, 2017 has unanimously recommended the abovenamed Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court, after taking into consideration, *inter alia*, their overall performance.

The above recommendation has received the concurrence of the Chief Minister and the Governor of the State of Jharkhand.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named recommendees for being appointed as Permanent Judges, we have consulted our colleague who is conversant with the affairs of the Jharkhand High Court. A copy of letter of opinion of our consultee-colleague received in this regard is placed below.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26th October, 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium, after going through the judgments of Mr. Justices Ananda Sen and Anant Bijay

Singh in its Report dated 8th November, 2017 (copy placed below) has found their judgments as 'good and/or upto the mark'.

We have taken note of certain complaints making allegations against the above-named recommendees. We do not see any merit in the aforesaid complaints as the allegations made therein are either frivolous, unsubstantiated, general in nature and/or not supported by any verifiable material. In our considered view, the said complaints being shorn of merit, deserve to be ignored, particularly, in the light of positive material on record.

Taking into consideration the recommendation of the High Court Collegium, views of our consultee-colleague and the report of the Judgment Evaluation Committee, the Collegium finds both the above-named Additional Judges suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that Mr. Justices (1) Ananda Sen, and (2) Anant Bijay Singh, Additional Judges be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Jharkhand High Court.

(Dipak Misra), C.J.I.

(J. Chelameswar), J.

(Ranjan Gogoi), J.

December 4, 2017.